Why Do I Blog? – A Meme

I have never participated in a Meme. In fact, it wasn’t really all that long ago that I had to look up the word ‘meme’ to see what it was all about. I think it was when I kept bumping into the word on Facebook. I’ve never embraced the various types of ‘challenges’ that appear on FB, Twitter or blogs. I’m not here to play games. (I’m here to write about playing games!) I don’t do memes.

Until today.

I am celebrating three years of RP writing on the blog, Steaming Along: Danko Whitfield In the 19th Century. With that anniversary in mind, I decided today to take part in a recent Strawberry Singh meme because it is all about blogging. Even though it is totally out of character for me to do something like this, I had a feeling she would get me at some point. By the way, this post appears here rather than on Steaming Along because that blog is (mostly) IC so it would be off-topic there and because this is my (sort-of) OOC blog.

Ready? Here we go…

How long have you been blogging?

As Danko Whitfield, I have been blogging for three years. As RL me, I had one blog before that which I did for a few months. It was not a particularly gratifying experience so I killed it and did not blog again for several years.

Why did you start blogging?

(Not counting the ill-fated first blog…)

It was an accident. The Seneschelf – aka Lady Twilight, in effect, the Queen – of Winterfell made an appeal to the citizenry to take part in the Storyboards on the Realm’s website. I was fairly new to Winterfell and I wanted to become involved in the community and I am a writer in RL so I figured this was a good way to get involved. I had no idea what it would lead to and I am grateful to Lady Twilight to this day.

How many times a week do you post an entry?

For this answer I will include both of my Danko blogs as well as my RL blogs. I generally write five to eight blog pieces per week.

How many different blogs do you read on a regular basis?

I read Inara Pey and Ciaran Laval almost daily. There are about a dozen virtual world blogs that I check at least once a week. There are several virtual world and real world blogs that I check every couple of months and get caught up with. I don’t subscribe to any blogs because I have the ones I like bookmarked and it is part of my routine to check them, I don’t need a reminder.

Do you comment on other people’s blogs?

Yes but not often.

Do you keep track of how many visitors you have?

Yes.

Did you ever regret a post that you wrote?

OOC pieces – no.

IC pieces – I have regretted a few. This regret is more along the lines of: I wish I had not written on that topic as opposed to any particular thing that I said in a piece.

Do you think your readers have a true sense of who you are based on your blog?

I think my RP blog does give the reader a true sense of my character. I write several different types of pieces on that blog – stories of adventure, events, observations about life, commentaries, personal matters. I think this approach rounds out the character.

Do you blog under your real name?

In addition to the two blogs as Danko, I do an RL blog under my RL name and others (fiction and non-fiction) under pen names. Although I don’t write about virtual world issues as anyone other than Danko, I do RP writing as other characters in ‘group blog’ situations.

Are there topics that you would never blog about?

I’m not sure I understand this question. Sure. I don’t write about things unless they fit the theme of the blog in question. If you mean: is there a topic I’m afraid to blog about? Then my answer is yes and no. With enough pen names, I can say anything I want!

What is the theme/topic of your blog?

I will answer only as Danko here…

Steaming Along: Danko Whitfield In The 19th Century is described under the masthead as “the wanderings of a Steampunk Explorer.” As Danko is a time-traveller, albeit semi-retired, his stories go beyond the 19th century.

Journey To The Center Of The Metaverse is described under the masthead as “one avatar’s battle with the reality of the virtual landscape.”

Do you have more than one blog? If so, why?

Different blogs with different themes aimed at different audiences.

What have you found to be the benefits of blogging?

There are benefits?

So, why do you continue to blog?

It’s fun.

About Danko Whitfield

writer, explorer of virtual worlds. semi-retired time traveler.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Why Do I Blog? – A Meme

  1. I also enjoy reading Inara Pey and Ciaran Laval’s blogs as well. They always seem to be “in the know” about everything. Thanks so much for participating.

    Like

Comments are closed.